‘Girl With The Dragon Tattoo’ Movie Review

Before tonight’s screening of Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, I knew nothing about the story, never read the book..I had only heard good things. I like being in the dark about a film before viewing it because I like to be surprised. & this was a very good surprise. I knew it was going to be good from the intro alone – I have never seen anything like it – very dark & edgy is how I’d best describe it [left me curious as to how they filmed it]. The movie had me in suspense the majority of it’s run time. The main character, Lisbeth Salander [Rooney Mara], is extremely dark & disturbed, yet I couldn’t help but be curious about her.  On top of that, her character is very intelligent when it comes to computers & street smarts. There were very disturbing/graphic scenes that Lisbeth was involved in, but I think it helped develop her character in a way that the audience could find respect for her. The first part of the movie, David Fincher [director] follows Lisbeth & the other main character, Mikael Blomkvist [Daniel Craig] separately, so I wasn’t sure how they were connected, how they would be connected, or even if they would be connected.  Eventually, their stories find each other & the second half of the movie is nothing short of thrilling. As a fan of mystery, I enjoyed how Fincher took the audience through every clue & detail that was discovered by Lisbeth & Mikael in their search to solve the missing person case – it gave the audience a chance to try to solve it on their own as well.  I appreciated that Fincher did not focus much on the relationship between the two main characters or give great background on either of them because some of the scenes [including the ending] would have been harder to accept.

Although the run time of this movie is 160 min, it did not feel that way at all.  I was kept on my toes & Fincher had my attention the entire time. I was very pleased & would definitely recommend this movie.

Girl With The Dragon Tattoo opens in theaters tomorrow, December 20th, 2011. 

2 thoughts on “‘Girl With The Dragon Tattoo’ Movie Review

Leave a Reply

