Arrival in Shanghai

The flight to Shanghai was a long 14 hours. I slept, though not as much as I had anticipated, & watched three movies the remainder of time. I have to say, everything went very smooth the duration of my travel; my luggage weighed in under 100 lbs (shock!) & there were no long waits during security & customs. Shanghai’s airport was quiet at the time of my arrival, & it is one of the cleanest I have ever seen.

My boss’s receptionist waited at the gate for my coworker & me, then took us on the metro towards our place of work. The metro reminded me of the tube in London, mainly for its cleanliness, but also it’s design. It was about an hour & a half commute before we reached the office, & at that point I was fading fast.

I was introduced to a few of my new co-workers & managers, all of whom speak English well & were very welcoming. Since I traveled by metro today, I did not see much of the city itself. It was a dreary day of fog & rain anyway. One of my roommates showed me back to our apartment, which is conveniently less than a block away from where I’ll be working. I have 2 roommates, Tracy & Grace, who are also my co-workers. Tracy had beautiful flowers waiting for me at the apartment & a silk handkerchief embroidered with blossoms as a welcome gift! The apartment is adorable! I felt right at home when I saw Hello Kitty things all over the place πŸ™‚ I was too exhausted to unpack & I wanted a good sleep so I would be well rested for today!

This is the view from my office. Β Today is very cloudy, as you can see, so the city doesn’t look too pretty. I had a standard Chinese breakfast, which consisted of dumplings & a hot beverage that I think is made of soy & chick peas (not anything like coffee or tea). Β So far, I haven’t had any issues with food, then again, I’ve only had one meal!

I will try to update as much as possible. I believe I’ll have access to Facebook & Twitter – thanks to a friend πŸ™‚

Miss & Love you all!

Xx

6 thoughts on “Arrival in Shanghai

  1. Roland Hulme says:

    Leah! How amazing and awesome to hear your first report from the other side of the world. It seems this week we’ll both be looking at unfamiliar skyscrapers out of unfamiliar windows; making making new friends and having new adventures. I can’t wait to hear more!

  2. Erin says:

    Wow what a nice welcome did Chris get flowers too? πŸ™‚ So nice that they made you feel at home! dumplings for breakfast.hmmm not sure about that but the drink sounds yummy …..missing u

Leave a Reply

